Skip to content

Blue Pill, Red Pill??

January 20, 2009

Welcome to the desert of the real!!

For someone familiar with THE MATRIX TRILOGY, this was the metaphor used by Morpheus(Lawrence Fishburne) to show the true complexities of the real world to the protagonist Neo (Keanu Reeves). It was a world ravaged by machines; a world where humans were reduced to minorities; a world where humans were “the hunted”.

However, it was a world Neo had already chosen by taking the Red pill.

Let me recap a bit more. Neo was offered two choices – The Blue pill which would make him go back to sleep and forget everything, accepting the illusionary world project by The Matrix as the real world. The Red pill would show him the stark realities of the true world.

Why am I saying all this? Yes I am a BIG fan of The Matrix Trilogy. But apart from that, I would like to draw parallels to the world in which we are living in.

For me, the blue pill will leave me where I am, in a life consisting of habit, of things I believe I know. Commuting to work, taking usual decisions blah blah blah…

The red pill would be something more ominous. Something unknown, unforeseen, yet something so lucrative that one cant resist. Entrepreneurship. It symbolises risk, doubt and questioning. In order to answer the question, you can gamble your whole life and world on a reality you have never experienced.

However, the beauty of these two terms lies in the fact that they are not just restricted to me or for that matter entrepreneurship. They stand for OUR CHOICES.

Blue pill –> COMFORT, ACCEPTANCE –>EASY CHOICE       |        Red pill –> RISK, QUESTIONING –> HARD CHOICE

So, what is it gonna  be?

3 Comments leave one →
  1. February 9, 2009 2:10 am

    The debate between security versus freedom. It’s more pervasive in our current society than most people think, in my opinion. It seems to me, though, that security — the blue pill, if you will — is an illusion. You can’t ever be safe from everything. I might step outside my door tomorrow and get hit by a runaway bagel truck. I’d rather be free.

  2. numberoneqt permalink
    February 9, 2009 5:55 am

    I rather enjoyed the Matrix films. I will say that I fell into deep introspection the weeks following seeing it. I agree with your evaulation of the red and blue as it relates to your world now. An equally healthy debate is that of “free will” and “pre-destiny”. Oh, well. Great article, nonetheless!

    http://www.itreatmyself.info

  3. March 15, 2009 7:03 am

    A la Robert Frost in the making 🙂

Leave a Reply

