Skip to content

Why India doesn’t need a Superman.

June 16, 2009

Alright, Lois Lane! I humbly apologize for doing an Anu Malik on the title of your article in Superman Returns. I know it won’t fetch me a Pulitzer Prize but surely I can try for a Padmashri, eh?? 😉

So lets see, is Superman really going to be helpful in India??

First and foremost, he would be busy protecting his Lois Lane from crooks, thugs, eve-teasers, rapists, drunk colleagues, likes of Pramod Muthalik and Shiv Sena. With all the hectic work, where will he find the time to protect the common citizen?

Secondly, he would have to change his costume a bit to suit the Indian conditions. I mean have you seen that underwear over pants? He would be slapped with charges of obscenity! And what about a mask?? Yes, a mask!! Assuming that he can fly all over the place and a crime can be committed anywhere, what if he has to fly over Dharavi or for that matter, a Municipal waste dumping ground. Surely he can breathe out cold air but can he breathe in those toxic gases?? And with the amount of pollution in our cities, surely he can’t do without it. Another change would be letting go of his garb. What if it gets entangled in so many electric wires all over the city and Superman gets electrocuted!! Hmm, would make quite a lot of headline.. (I can already imagine BREAKING NEWS flashing all over the news channels)

Next, how will he fly?? I mean as it is with the amount of air traffic congestion we have in this country due to lack of ATC controllers, who will supervise his flying and landing??

And most importantly, which caste will be support? I mean he surely can’t be without a caste. It must be acceptable in his planet Krypton or for that matter in US. But no sir, not in India!

What do we need right now? Some rain!! 😀

12 Comments leave one →
  1. June 16, 2009 9:23 pm

    🙂

    And there is a full probability that he and his presence will be blamed for everything that goes wrong in the country. Floods, droughts, terror attacks everything

    Not to mention the human rights organizations blaming him of autocracies on what superman perceives to be a criminal.

  2. June 19, 2009 10:58 pm

    lol
    good take

  3. You guys just don't know anything about superman! permalink
    October 24, 2009 4:38 am

    He can handle it! That’s what makes him super! If it is impossible, then superman is a likely canditate to be able to handle it.

  4. appye permalink
    October 24, 2009 4:40 am

    Yeah, the superman costume definately needs some updating!

  5. January 12, 2010 6:06 am

    You posted my copyright artwork without my permission. This is a copyright infringement. Remove it or i will report you to wordpress.

    • Ankit Agrawal permalink*
      January 12, 2010 2:57 pm

      Hi.. I really apologize for the picture. I was not aware that it was a copyrighted one. As you can see it has been removed.

      On another note, I visited your website and really liked your work :). As I can see, you offer morphs and other art for sale. If you want, I can put up a link on my blog leading to your store.

  6. February 3, 2010 3:52 am

    Hey, I read a lot of blogs on a daily basis and for the most part, people lack substance but, I just wanted to make a quick comment to say GREAT blog!…..I”ll be checking in on a regularly now….Keep up the good work! 🙂

    Robert Shumake

  7. February 6, 2010 10:33 pm

    Super-Duper site! I am loving it!! Will come back again – taking your feeds too now, Thanks.

  8. Ankit Agrawal permalink*
    February 24, 2010 1:15 am

    @Robert and @MrBarns
    I really appreciate ur comments! Lately I haven’t been updatin my blog but vil make sure to do it regularly from now on 🙂 🙂
    Cheers!

  9. June 25, 2011 10:51 pm

    Good one here..Quite an unique concept I should say..SuperMan in India..You missed one point though…SuperMan would have a tough time with the rubber-ish costume he wears , specially with the Indian Summers knocking us over. He would have to carry a couple of spare dresses , enough packaged water and sub-block lotions. And where would he get his dresses dry-cleaned? I mean SuperMan walking into our local Dry-Cleaners to get his dress washed,etc wouldnt be very cool…right?

    – Soham Roy (www.thetechallies.com)

  10. February 16, 2015 3:43 pm

    Eureka! On having rediscovered you. Why not write something about current India’s situation unemployment and slow economic growth. How will the drop is the oil prices affect India positively or negatively?

Trackbacks

  1. 2010 in review « PowerBlogging

Leave a comment